Default Can You Sue a Foreign Client in the U.S. if the Owner Moves to a U.S. State

My question involves independent contractors in the state of: Louisiana

I'm a web developer who previously worked for a Canadian tech startup and am still owed $8k of a $10k invoice. I'm wondering what is my best recourse for collecting on that debt?

A little back story ... this is a "friend" I've known for a number of years. I went to work for him 4 years prior to being laid off. In early Sept 2015 he hinted that payments might begin trickling for a while due to money issues on his end. Two months later (Oct 31) I was officially laid off, but was told those 2 months of invoices would be paid. Naturally as a friend I took him at his word and was patient. I've asked him about it every few months since and of course I just get fed excuses.

I recently learned that he has taken up residence in the US again (San Francisco) so it should be easier then tracking him down in Canada. Still all I can speculate on his location is the work address he has listed on his LinkedIn profile. I have no idea where his residence is. Furthermore I live in Louisiana so its far from convenient.

I guess I just have a few questions if anyone can help. Can I sue him remotely (via a lawyer) without traveling to SF? Is the cost of hiring a lawyer, potentially hiring a P.I. to find and serve him, and/or traveling costs make this cost prohibitive? Is there any jurisdiction/statute of limitations issue I'm not considering?

Thanks

Default Re: Unpaid Invoice

Quote Quoting unpaid773
    View Post
    Can I sue him remotely (via a lawyer) without traveling to SF?
    You can file your lawsuit long distance but to pursue it you have to appear in court to testify because EVERY participant in a lawsuit has an absolute right to face and question his opponent. If you aren't willing and able to do that, then don't bother.

Quote Quoting unpaid773
    View Post