Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Shoplifting from a Department Store in New Jersey

Two days ago, my best friend and I were caught shoplifting from a Macy's Department Store. I had hid two shirts in my purse totaling up to around $50. My friend, however, had stolen a total of $100+ worth of clothes and even wore a pair of the stoeln jeans under the jeans she wore to the mall. We, of course, were caught by security and taken to an office in the store to fill out paperwork. The police then came in and arrested us. We are no longer allowed in a Macy's store without a parent/guardian. Our parents had to pick us up from the police station. Our court date has not been set and I have no further knowledge to the situation.

What all goes down in the courtroom?
    How much trouble can I get in?
    Will I have to complete any special programs or community service?

Please, if you have any information that could be of help to me, contact me.

panther10758 Guest

Default Re: Shoplifting from a Department Store in New Jersey

It appears as though your minors although you do not state that. You are facing criminal charges your parents should find you a criminal defense Attorney before your court date. You failed to mention Civil Demand that will be on your parents (your a minor) to pay. This is a demand for money from $50.00 to $1000.00 (depending on state). This demand is outside of court

I did fail to mention that we are both 17 years old, and we will both turn 18 the start of November. When the security officers took us to their office, there was a sign hanging that stated the Civil Demand fee was $150. I asked the man if we could just paythat now and he stated that we wouldn't have to worry about that.

panther10758 Guest

I doubt thats correct it a near gurantee that they will seek Civil Demand. Perhaps they meant "you" would not have to worry about your parents will!