Default Can You Become a Police Officer With a Dismissed Drug Felony Charge

My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: Virginia

In August 2013 I was charged with possession of controlled substance (Ritalin) and an arrest warrant came out for me a year and a half later dating back to the incident. I was placed on the VA 251 disposition program and I successfully completed the program having the charge dismissed. Even though this is great because I was never "convicted", however I can never become a police officer because the charge will forever remain on my record. I have a bachelors in criminal justice but I feel like even with that, I will always be rejected to any law enforcement agency I apply to. Also since VA 251 orders any defendant to plead guilty to the charge, many law enforcement agencies consider that in itself a "conviction." Would hiring a employment lawyer help me with my situation?

Default Re: Can You Become a Police Officer With a Dismissed Drug Felony Charge

Even if VA considers this an offense that is no longer a felony, under federal law you may still have lost your ability to possess a firearm. You may want to consider hiring an attorney well versed in firearms law to determine if the dismissal also restored your firearms rights. In many states such a dismissal does not restore firearms rights.

Even if this DOES restore your firearms rights and is no longer an automatic bar to employment as a peace officer, many agencies may consider your prior arrest and conviction when evaluating your suitability for a position. Time and deeds since then may well set such indiscretions behind you. Three years is unlikely to be sufficient time for you to be seriously considered at this point.
    Retired Cal Cop Sergeant & Teacher

Seek justice,
    Love mercy,
    Walk humbly with your God

-- Courageous, by Casting Crowns ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkM-gDcmJeM