Default Can Your Parents Stop You from Dropping Out of School

My question involves juvenile law in the State of: Michigan

I'm two months from being seventeen. I'm a sophomore in high school, and I don't want to drop out of school. I want that part to be clear, I don't want to drop out of school.

But, I also have a great job, that I love. However, my parents are very controlling and don't like that I'm making money in my own. They've been trying to make up reasons to make me quit. For example, I didn't do the dishes once so they said that since my job was keeping me from doing chores then I should quit my job.
    One time when my mom was angry she said she was going to call my work and tell them that I can't work for them anymore.
    I can't lose my job, I need the money so that when I'm 18 I can leave.

This brings me to dropping out of school. I need something to say in retaliation when my parents try to make me quit. If I tell them that I'll drop out of school if they make me quit my job then I know that they'll stop trying to make me quit my job. They value my education more than anything.

This won't work though if my parents can stop me from dropping out in the first place.

Please don't lecture me on the dangers of dropping out. If I ever do actually drop out them I'll immediately enroll myself in an online program.

I just need to know if my parents can prevent me from dropping out.

Default Re: Can Your Parents Stop You from Dropping Out of School

Quote Quoting CMC1819
    View Post
    I want that part to be clear, I don't want to drop out of school.
    Then... don't.
    Quote Quoting CMC1819
    For example, I didn't do the dishes once so they said that since my job was keeping me from doing chores then I should quit my job.
    They have a point.
    Quote Quoting CMC1819