Default Eighteen-Year-Old Student Caught Shoplifting, First Offense

My question involves criminal law for the state of: Arizona

Recently I was charged with two misdemeanors on account of shoplifting at Macy's. The items stolen totaled less than $100. I would not have been arrested or brought to the police station if the goods had not been "damaged" - the cops had to be involved for this reason and I was placed under arrest.

I was charged with a misdemeanor for shoplifting and another misdemeanor for concealment or "concealed" shoplifting,both for the same issue. My court date is two weeks and I'm unsure what consequences I will be facing. I am scared that jail time or incarceration will be the outcome. I'm only 18 and I'm a student and I don't want to disappoint my family by going to jail at such a young age. Is there a large chance I'll have to spend time in jail or is there a better chance that I can just pay a fine and take a diversion class to expunge my record? Shoplifting was the biggest mistake of my life and I will never do it again if they give me the chance to pay back the wrong that I committed.

Default Re: First-Time Offender, Less Than $100 Stolen - What Am I Going to Be Facing in Cour

You need an attorney. Get the chip off your shoulder that you had some bad break that caused you to be arrested. You committed crimes. Even if they recovered the merchandise in salable condition, they could have still called the cops and the state still could have prosecuted you for EXACTLY the same charges you are facing now.

A theft diversion program is your best bet. An attorney could make sure you get into one. The program will come with a fee, but if you successfully complete that, you'll not have a criminal record from this (and the program fees are likely less than the fine you would have received).