Default Can a Foreign Parent Company be Held Liable for Fines Against a Subsidiary

Hello,

This is Raviv, from Germany. I am a student and have a question to competent and international lawyers to complete my assignment.

At first, If I've come to a wrong place, I am really sorry for that. So please accept my apologies at the beginning.

I am aware that my question is specific and needs to be researched well, which I am also doing for a while, but I need to have some different perspectives to go into more depth. I hope you can help me. I don't expect to get long/tiring answers, instead I just need someone to show me different doors. Even 2-3 sentences of answer could assist me.

I am also sorry for My English, if you can't understand my writing well. The event and thereafter the question are specified below:

Let's say, a foreign company (from a country other than the US, such as German company) is doing commercial activities across the World. This German company has a subsidiary company situated in the US. One day, the subsidiary is sued by individuals/companies due to a fault during its activities. In the meantime, the subsidiary does not have any assets within the US.

Sometime later, the subsidiary loses the case but it has no insurance or assets. Therefore, the plaintiffs who won the case decided to chase after the parent company in order to compensate their losses. However, as the parent company is German and situated in Germany and there is no reciprocity between the US and Germany, the plaintiffs cannot enforce the final decision of a US court in Germany.

So what else can the plaintiffs do rather than trying to enforce the decision in German courts? For example, can they take action to prohibit the parent company doing business in Europe or other countries?

Default Re: Can a Foreign Parent Company be Held Liable for Fines Against a Subsidiary

Quote Quoting raviv
    View Post