Default Converting a Chapter 13 Bankruptcy to Chapter 7, Three Years Into the Plan

My question involves bankruptcy in the state of: Florida

I filed for Chapter 13 protection 3 years ago but it took close to 1 year to get all the paperwork through the courts and get it approved. So I have been making payments for 2 years now. I had 1 asset I was trying to protect and that was roughly $50,000 in my savings account. Outside of that, 1 vehicle worth maybe $8,000 (now $4,000), no home or other major assets. I owed the IRS just over $21,000. My hope was that I would get back to work and be able to use my income to pay off the debt.

At the time, I was not aware how any of this worked and trusted my attorney to get me through this with as little pain as possible, especially financial pain. I knew I would have to repay the taxes but it took my attorney 1 year to tell me that I would also have to fork over the taxes plus an amount equal to the $50,000 I was trying to save ($20 some thousand to the Trustee and close to $30,000 for ???) And because it took 1 year to tell me that, my savings account was actually down to roughly $40,000 at that time. He told me this 1 day before he went into court to have the entire package approved and essentially asked me ďwhat do you want me to do?". I was actually floored by this but after waiting 1 year and having less than 24 hours to decide, I told him I had no choice but to accept it. I was just hoping I could make it work somehow.

I could write a book on why, but I have not worked in 4 years. Short story, my previous jobs required a security clearance so the bankruptcy ended that. I also had a large gap in my resume, my age, and probably a few other things working against me. Iíve looked outside my field but suspect I am viewed as over-qualified and likely to leave? Regardless of the reason, itís been 4 years since my last paycheck. My savings is below $10,000 now and I know that will run out in about 4 more months.