My question involves a driver's license issued by the State of: Minnesota
In 1998 I got a dui in MN, I went to court in Feb. 1999...I received a conviction for a dwi. I had to attend driving school, MADD, community service and for two weeks 3 times a day breath into a machine. Never during any of that time, Feb. 1999 - March 1999 completed, did I receive a notice stating my license had been suspended for the DWI. In Jan. 2000 my mother died and I had to move back home, another state, with my family...I was 21 to 22 years of age during this time. I made sure with my unsupervised probation that I was good to move and I got the go ahead. My fees were being paid monthly but when my mother died my world kinda went downwards and I couldn't pay the fine, after one month of being late the court, in feb. 2000, issued a suspension of my license. I paid all fines owed to court Aug. 27th 2001 and they sent the reinstatement to dmv May 2007.
Now because I had moved to another state, I am pretty sure that that is why I didn't receive that notice of suspension. But because I didn't receive that notice I never knew it was suspended. That same year I went to the DMV in the state I was living in and I got my license. I have had that license since and never once was told it was suspended. I now live in California and my license has expired, I went to the dmv here and they told me it was suspended...15 years later I was finally made aware of the suspension. I called MN dmv to find out the cost to get my license and they are telling me I have to pay the whopping $680 reinstatement, but according to the court records it was suspended for failure to pay court fees which should only cost $30 to reinstate and should have been reinstated as soon as I paid the fine off in 2001.
I am so confused on when and why the license was actually suspended and now have bigger issues because I have kids now and I need to drive to work and schools and I can't. For 15 years I had no idea that it was suspended and now I can't drive. I have had nothing on my driving record before or after that dui, no speeding tickets, no traffic violations, nothing and now I have to pay a disgustingly high reinstatement fee to a state I never had a license in and never told me my privilege to get one was suspended. I do not understand why I have to pay that high of a fee when it wasn't suspended for the DWI...I lived at the same address after conviction for a year, that is plenty of time to send me a notice that it was suspended and I never received one. Do I have any options here? Will CA pick this up and let me at least get a restricted, if I have to pay the fine, until I can get the fine paid off? Please someone tell me something I am so confused!!
Quoting copy of court record