Hybrid View

Default Tourist Contracted Ciguatera at a 5 Star Resort in Turks and Caicos

My question involves an injury that occurred in the country of: Turks and Caicos

So I'm actually typing this from a hospital in Miami right now (although I'm a resident of Texas), but here's the details.

Got married on 5/15 and started our honeymoon on 5/18 at an all inclusive (minus alcohol) resort in Turks and Caicos.

This is a 5 star Resort costing approx $1000 per night.

Ate many fish dishes throughout the week.

Caught a case of ciguatera. My body went into shock on the boat transport (owned by the resort)during the last day.

Went to hospital In Turks but was discharged with dehydration (not the greatest hospital).

Got to the hospital in Miami (worst plane ride of my life) and have been diagnosed with ciguatera - a neurotoxic poison that can take months-years to recover from.

I've been in the hospital for 5 days but should be getting discharged with meds (neurontin) today.

Do I have a case to sue the resort? What type of damages should I seek?

Thanks in advance.

Default Re: Us Honeymooner Catches Ciguatera at 5 Star Resort in Turks and Caicos

This is not a disease that comes from bad handling and there's no way to inspect the fish (contrary to certain unfounded beliefs) to detect its presence.

Default Re: Us Honeymooner Catches Ciguatera at 5 Star Resort in Turks and Caicos

Quote Quoting flyingron
    View Post
    This is not a disease that comes from bad handling and there's no way to inspect the fish (contrary to certain unfounded beliefs) to detect its presence.
    I would think there may be a duty to warn of the possibility, if there is a reasonable concern of the issue but regardless, given this is in a foreign country, wouldn't the laws of that country control.

Quote Quoting jk
    View Post