My question involves criminal law for the state of: Canton, Georgia
i wanted to know if there was a time limit on how long someone could sit in jail without have a revocation hearing and no sure he has even been charged with a violation of probation. He his been there almost 30 days and no court date or PO visit. Doesn't the state have to file charges in a certain period of time or can you be held indefinitely waiting.
My friend was arrested on 4/7/15 for a probation warrant it's now 5/3/15 and his P.O. has not visited him yet and will not return phone calls. The public defenders office says that can't assign him a for the day attorney until the P.O visits or sets a court date. Can you help me locate a state law that can help him get out or force the court to add him for a hearing date. Legally how long does a PO have to either visit with an offer or assign inmates a court date. How long can they refuse to see him or not assign a revocation hearing in Cherokee county Georgia? Seems kind of unreasonable that it's been in jail almost 30 days and felony violation inmate are ready being set to court, this is a misdemeanor violation? Even the sheriff deputy's at the jail are saying this is bs and he should have been set a court date by now. Can he file a motion for a hearing?