Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Teacher's Loss of Position Within a School

My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: California

I am a teacher in LAUSD. In recent years, I moved to a teacher coaching position funded by the district. A new principal was hired this year and he basically had me fired with no cause whatsoever. I have rights as a teacher in the district but am being pushed out of the school. There was no negative feedback at all. The district basically asked the principal if he wanted me back. He said no so they essentially stripped me of the position. That is the process.

Is this just a case of a super bad employer that can do whatever they want to me?

I am extremely upset at this point. There is more to the story with regard to his motives but for now, I will keep it simple.

Default Re: Teacher Fired (Sort Of)

Quote Quoting andresrr
    View Post
    My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: California

I am a teacher in LAUSD. In recent years, I moved to a teacher coaching position funded by the district. A new principal was hired this year and he basically had me fired with no cause whatsoever. I have rights as a teacher in the district but am being pushed out of the school. There was no negative feedback at all. The district basically asked the principal if he wanted me back. He said no so they essentially stripped me of the position. That is the process.

Is this just a case of a super bad employer that can do whatever they want to me?

I am extremely upset at this point. There is more to the story with regard to his motives but for now, I will keep it simple.
    What does your union rep have to say about the situation?

Are you in a union?

If so, does this violate your contract?

If not, do you have any kind of a contract that guarantees a certain term of employment?

File for unemployment.