Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Sued for Defamation Over a Yelp Review

My question involves defamation in the state of: California

Hello all, I am new to expertlaw. I live in California and was recently sued for posting a truthful but negative review on YELP for a local store where I encountered a bad experience. The lawsuit if for Defamation and although I am probably not the first to be sued from a YELP review, it is a pretty recent epidemic I am assuming. I would greatly appreciate any advice or and lawyer referrals people could send my way. Thank you in advance.

Default Re: Being Sued for Yelp Review

Be prepared to substantiate anything you said in the negative review in court.

Default Re: Being Sued for Yelp Review

This forum can't do lawyer referrals. There are links to lawyers elsewhere on the site. Many county bar associations have either a referral program or at least a list of local lawyers by specialty they can provide you.

As Dissy points out, the truth is almost always a defense for a defamation action. Opinions that are not made with malice usually aren't actionable anyhow.

Default Re: Sued for Defamation Over a Yelp Review

If you have homeowner's coverage, you should see if you are covered for defamation claims.

Disagreeable, thank you very much for all your valuable advice. Yes, I can back everything up in court, as I stated above my review is the absolute truth. And I have sent the complaint to my homeowner insurance company yesterday to see if I am covered, also great advice, (thanks Mr. Knowitall)