Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Back Yard Mechanic Sued Over Engine Damage

My question involves a consumer law issue in the State of: Minnesota

I recently was asked to do a repair on a neighbor's car. I normally don't do mechanical work for anyone but family and friends, which is very seldom. I am not a licensed mechanic, but I am experienced and I work in my home garage. I was approached by the customer in September of 2014. He asked me if I could install a bumper,which he had purchased on his daughter’s 1991 Honda Accord LX. I agreed and inspected the car. After inspecting the vehicle, I noticed it was missing a few parts to complete the repair. I also noticed the valve cover gasket was leaking oil. I showed this to him and I quoted him a price of around $120. This included putting on the bumper, installing the valve cover gasket, and buying all the necessary parts. He agreed and I ordered the parts. After several weeks, the parts arrived and I called them up to deliver the car. While I was changing the valve cover gasket I noticed that the timing belt was severely cracked and worn. I showed this to his wife and her daughter and told them the timing belt was likely to fail soon. They then asked me if I could change it, since the daughter was going on a long trip in several days. Despite the fact I had other responsibilities, I agreed to do this as a favor. I quoted them $150 for parts and $150 for labor, which is hundreds of dollars less than a mechanic shop would’ve charged.
    I then asked them if I could drive it to my friend's shop since I did not have an air compressor in my small one stall garage. They agreed to that also.