Default Can a Roommate Have Friends Stay Over Without the Other Roommate's Permission

My question involves landlord-tenant law in the State of: CA

So I have a month to month 3 bedroom lease under my name ONLY and that is how my landlord wants it. I have tried to add another person but he doesn't want anyone else on it but me. I have been leasing for 3 years.

There is a roommate who has been living with me for only four months. In the second month (this was in September) he had a friend stay over. I don't mind if a friend stays over because they got a little too drunk and can't drive but this guy was staying over every day. At first he was appearing once or twice a week then all of a sudden every morning when I leave for work I would see him sleeping in the living room. I texted my roommate what was going on and if his friend was staying at our place and if it was temporary. All he texted me back was "temp". Now he never introduced me to his friend and did not even ask if it was okay. It was a mess. He stayed much longer and I mentioned that he must pay for the time he's been staying at my place and be out. Then I hear from my OTHER roommate (who is no longer my roommate now) that the stranger was actually staying for a couple of months until he gets his VA check and thought I knew about it already, I was PISSED! I told him that we cannot have friends stay over like that again and he agreed. Didn't say sorry, nor did his friend thank me for not kicking him out right away. I think its fair that my renters should let me know and come to me and ask if its okay to have someone stay temporarily. I was totally out of the loop.