Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default How Can a Manufacturer Prevent a Product Liability Claim

My question involves business law in the USA (All states), regarding Commercial Liability

I'm a professional engineer and the sole owner of an incorporated design services company. I have errors and omissions liability insurance, however my policy does not cover making, installing and/or selling a product.

I recently invented a small device that I'm using in a vintage automobile that I race as a hobby. The device works exceptionally well and some of the fellows at the track are quite interested in purchasing this device. I contacted the insurance company that provides my E&O policy, and as soon as I told them this device is used in an automobile they stated that it would be very expensive to get insurance.

If I were to sell this device, the quantity and total sales would not amount to very much I'm guessing perhaps a few hundred at most @ $100 = $50k tops and likely a lot less. As a hobby racer we use a lot of after-market performance parts and they usually come with a disclaimer that states for off road use only, use at your own risk. I would have a lawyer draft a similar disclaimer if there is any advantage.

IMO, the device is completely safe, I'm not concerned about the device failing and causing problems, I just don't want exposure if some unscrupulous person does decides this is a quick way to a healthy payout.

So is it possible to write a disclaimer that would actually provide a reasonable level of protection?

If not, are there insurance companies that cater to small business situations as described above that can provide coverage for a reasonable amount considering the low volume and very limited revenue this would generate?

Thank you in advance for your advice.

Default Re: Commercial Liability

If you plan on producing and marketing the device, I suggest you patent it and sell the patent rights to a separate company in which you own a 100% interest.