Default Adopting a family member

My sister gave birth to three children. Her first at seventeen and her second at 19. She married the father of these two children but divorced after a few years. She was the kind of mother that would drop her kids off at my parents and not rerurn for days and days. She also got pretty rough with the children in front of me and my parents. I was a child when this all happened and I do blame my parents for not reporting her abuse. I am a social worker now but I specialize in developmental disabilities and do not have the expertise in family law. Anyway, my sister has a mental illness that she self medicates with drugs and liquor. In 2002 she met a man that was educated and it really seemed that she did very well while she was with him. Then she got pregnant, again. When the baby was five weeks old she started asking me to babysit then she would not come back for days and I would have to miss work. One night I decided to say no so that I did not have to miss work the next day. The three children stayed home with this new boyfriend and he molested the oldest daughter. He was arrested and sentenced to 30 yrs in prison. Through all the proof and her daughter plea for help she did not believe her and left her children with my parents to party and would not return for weeks at a time. The oldest two children eventually went to their natural father and the baby was now 13 mos old and living with my parents. My mother called me and asked me and my new husband to take the baby. I explained that I would only do it if we got legal guardianship and my sister would not be a part of our life. They agreed because of my sisters violent past. My sister did not show for court but only called at 3am with slirred speach. She wanted to see the baby so I offered her a meeting with our lawyer but she did not show up. We tried to adopt the baby but ran out of money in the middle of the adoption because the baby got sick and we have medical bills. It has been