Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Mother is Trying to Get Child Support from Already Supportive Father

My question involves child support in the State of: connecticut

I am a 21 year old father of a 4 year old daughter. I have received a letter in the mail stating that her mother is trying to get child support. Me and her mother have not been together since our daughter was born. Ever since she was born, I have always supported my daughter when it came to formula, diapers, clothes, and all other expenses for when she was at my house as well as her mothers house. We do not have anything written from the court but we have agreed that our daughter would stay with me two weeks at a time and two weeks at a time at her mother's. Her mother would seem to always move; as she has moved 3 times in a matter of 3 years. I have not moved. I am a full time student and becoming a nurse and her mother is working (no college). There were times where she could not watch our daughter so I would keep her longer than intended. I would even say it has gotten to the point where our daughter stays with me a greater amount of time than with her mother. Also, ever since our daughter was born, her mother has received wik and state insurance for her and I would just provide for our daughter without any state assistance. I do not think it is fair that she is coming after me for child support because I believe if anything, she owes me child support but I would never go that route. I would like to ask for advice as to what I should do. Thank you

Default Re: Mother is Trying to Get Child Support from Already Supportive Father

How do you know it's Mom? It might be the State of Connecticut. They'll use a formula to figure out how much support you will pay.
    http://www.jud.ct.gov/childsupport/
    Don't make me quote Monty Python at you.

Default Re: Mother is Trying to Get Child Support from Already Supportive Father

her mother has received wik and state insurance for her