Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Drunk Driving Charges After Driving Into a Ditch

My question involves criminal law for the state of: driving under influence of alcohol
    Hi, I am a surgeon based in Indiana and one of my friends who happens to be an international student on a F-1 visa drove his car from an apartment to another apartment in the same residential complex and in the process put his car in a ditch. He was taken to a hospital by cops who came after his co passengers called 911 for help.
    The car was towed later, it was a rental.
    The co passengers were absolutely fine physically and mentally but the driver was observed for four hours in the local hospital and discharged once found okay on all investigations.
    The discharge sheet says alcohol intoxication - meaning blood alcohol content above the legal limit (though not disclosed). He is fine and his friends are fine.

I am curious - in this case when no one was harmed , there was minor damage to the curb which he is willing to pay for, he is ready to pay for the damage to the rented car, and his co passengers were unhurt, is there a legal problem he could land in? This thing happened yesterday and the cops after the on the scene statement have not called, visited.
    Should he talk to a lawyer?
    Thanks

Default Re: My Friend on an International Student Visa Drove Drunk and Landed in a Ditch

He needs an attorney. And he needs to understand that he may be facing deportation.
    An intelligent hell would be better than a stupid paradise - Victor Hugo

Do not microwave grapes

Default Re: My Friend on an International Student Visa Drove Drunk and Landed in a Ditch

If he has been charged, he absolutely needs a lawyer. The DUI even on it's own is serious enough to merit it, with the immigration issue on top of it, he doubly needs it. Even if he wasn't charged on the scene, he likely still can be. Paying off the damage does NOT just make the criminal issues go away.

Quote Quoting flyingron