My question involves a driver's license issued by the State of: North Carolina
I have a client who is a Massachusetts resident who was arrested for DUI in North Carolina while undergoing training at Fort Bragg, NC. The DUI charge was dismissed due to a lack of evidence. However, he refused the breath test and his license was suspended for 1 year because of the refusal. Under North Carolina Law, it looks like he can petition for a hardship license after serving 6 months of the 1 year license suspension. Iím writing to see if there is any possible way to get any type of hardship consideration prior to the expiration of the 6 month waiting period. He drives for a living and the loss of his license has been devastating.
If the DUI happened in his home state of Massachusetts, he would have automatically gotten his license reinstated after the DUI was dismissed and it would only have been suspended for 180 days for the refusal.