Default Back to Work, 75% Loss of Pay

My question involves workers compensation law for the state of: Alabama
    I sustained a knee injury at work in January 2013. I informed the employer immediately and was treated at the ER the next day. They referred me to another doctor immediately and I was seen 3 days later. I had an MRI in March and surgery in April for a torn meniscus of left knee. I was a maintenance mechanic at a scrap yard.I was out of work after the surgery being paid 66 2/3% from work comp during this time. On 9/24 I went back to the Dr. and w/c "demanded" my employer that I be put back to work . My Dr. restrictions only allow me to work 4 hours a day, w/c supplemented my pay for this time. I had a fce test done in early October and the DR. said that it was a valid test. Dr. the released me (MMI)with Permanent restrictions stating that I can NOT do my previous job. The employer cut my pay to $12.00 an hour (I was making $25.00 an hour) and now only working 4 hours a day per the Dr. order. So my pay went from $647.00 a week to $158.00 a week. W/c says that since I am at MMI, they end my benefit. I have contacted a lawyer, but he doesn't seem to be in any hurry. My bills are piling up and I need will need some help soon...any advice ?

Default Re: Back to Work, 75% Loss of Pay

Yes. Look for a better paying job.

Why do you believe the employer is required to pay you the same pay for less work?