Default Can Employers Reduce Compensation When They Offer Customer Discounts

My question involves employment and labor law for the state of: California.

Hi, I am a young attorney in California, trying to do a little research for a friend. If an employer entices customers through use of a Groupon-style discount, can that employer than pass along some or all of the reduction to his/her employees?

Example: A massage therapist is paid 40% of the price of a massage. Through Groupon, the employer offers discounted massages (say 50%of original value). Can the employer then only pay that employee 40% of the 50% of the massage's full cost?

Maybe numbers will help, just in case I'm not explaining well. A massage costs $100 an hour. An employee massage therapist is paid 40% by agreement (so $40). Employer decides to offer discounts (ie Groupon), reducing the massage to $50 for an hour. Can the employer now only pay the employee $20, instead of the usual $40?

Thank you in advance for any insight.

Default Re: Can Employers Pass on Discounts to Employees (Via Reduced Pay)

Quote Quoting jdhu
    View Post
    My question involves employment and labor law for the state of: California.

Hi, I am a young attorney in California, trying to do a little research for a friend. If an employer entices customers through use of a Groupon-style discount, can that employer than pass along some or all of the reduction to his/her employees?

Example: A massage therapist is paid 40% of the price of a massage. Through Groupon, the employer offers discounted massages (say 50%of original value). Can the employer then only pay that employee 40% of the 50% of the massage's full cost?