Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Can a Client Offer Different Benefits Packages to Individuals vs. Business Entities

My question involves independent contractors in the state of: FLORIDA

Hello:

I am a physician who is employed as an Independent Contractor for a large for-profit private medical group. I receive a 1099-MISC at year's end. My W-9 was completed with my S-corporation being the payee. My written Agreement, made between the company and I as an individual, provides for vacation time, sick days with pay, personal days with pay, and so forth. I am in the second year of a self-renewing contract. Bi-weekly compensation is made-out to my S-corporation. I am the sole employee of my S-corporation, which was established almost 13 years ago. I have heard through the grapevine that the employer has discussed the following with another existing physician Independent Contractor: if he decides to establish an S-corporation for tax purposes, the corporation will gladly pay his S-corporation instead of the physician, but the physician was told that he will relinquish 100% of his benefits (no vacation, sick days, personal days, and so forth).

I am trying to find out if the company can offer employee-like benefits to its Independent Contractors, but withdraw them if compensation is made payable to the physician's S-corp. The company apparently is not being consistent since I enjoy these benefits as an IC, my written employment Agreement is entered into with me as an individual, and my W-9 has my S-corp as the payee.

Thank you.

Adam Stuart

Default Re: Can a Client Offer Different Benefits Packages to Individuals vs. Business Entiti

Quote Quoting amstuart1964
    View Post

I am trying to find out if the company can offer employee-like benefits to its Independent Contractors, but withdraw them if compensation is made payable to the physician's S-corp.
    Yes.

It absolutely can, as there is no law prohibiting the practice.

View Post