Post Pedestrian Ticketed for Failure to Yield to Traffic While Crossing the Street

My question involves traffic court in the State of: California, specifically Los Angeles.

Hello. I'm a college student and have been walking back and forth from my classes for a long while, and this involves crossing some streets in the process. I've never gotten a jaywalking ticket because I'm aware of what jaywalking is in the book, so I always cross the road by the book - in between to intersections, at least one of them not being controlled, by traffic light or by police officer. Today I crossed a street without a crosswalk legally, but in traffic. A police officer stopped me upon reaching the sidewalk and gave me a citation. I'll do my best to describe everything on the ticket.

My information followed by the description of the incident from the officer's point of view.
    "21954(A)vc - E/B X-street
    Failing to yield r.o.w. to
    N/B #1 which had to brake to
    avoid t/s"
    He's marked this as an infraction
    He's marked my speed as "0-5" and the Max speed as "40" after making the error of starting with a "3" and then had crossed it out.
    Area of Occ.: Dev
    He's marked TE in a box with three boxes reaing "TE" "CI" and "PT"
    Underneath these options is "DIV" which he has written "YTD" or "VTD" next to

I'm wondering first if I'm actually in the wrong and should reconsider how I cross roadways, even while I consider to have a better judgement of speed and distance than most. Second, I'd like some help for how to go about this when I appear in court. Thank goodness it's only a bus ride away and won't cost more than $3 to get to lol!

Thank you for any feedback and posts. I hope that any posts on this thread will also help others in the process.

Sincerely,

Kyle Patrick Swan

Default Re: Pedestrian Ticketed for Failure to Yield to Traffic While Crossing the Street

Quote Quoting kylepatrickswan
    View Post