Question Can I Be Disciplined or Fired for Emails I Send Outside of Work

I am a medical professional (RN) and there is a local chiropractor who advertises on TV stating he can treat a medical condition (not related to what chiropractors d0). I emailed his via his website (his name.hotmail for example) and told him he is practicing outside the limits of his license and told him that I work for an insurance company and would find gratitude in denying his claims if he is treating people outside his license (I personally could not deny them, that decision would have to be done by an MD who works for the insurance company). I specifically said in the email that this was my opinion only and not that of my employer. He replied saying he knew my name (and quoted it) and would forward the email to his attorney and see me and my company in court-- which scared the hell out of me. 1-do I have any right to expect privacy? 2-Can my employer, if made aware of this private email, terminate me for doing that? This is my first time posting and hope I have the correct forum. If not, please let me know. TYVM

Default Re: Private Email to Someone, Can They 'Get Me'

1. Not in the slightest.

2. Please tell us where you're located. And whether you're unionised or have an enforceable contract or CBA

report him to your state licensing board, he is likely practicing medicine without a license and also likely committing fraud.

I would also consider your job potentially at risk. You did not do this as an individual. You admit you said you would use your professional capacity in the insurance company to deny his patient claims. Whether you have the power or not, you held yourself out as having the power. I would be sweating it out.

Thx so far:
    RE: