Default Neighbor Put Fence Up 30 Years Ago, Not on Property Line

My question involves real estate located in the State of: Washington in King county. I live on about a third of an acre with a 6 acre parcel running adjacent to and behind my property. The neighbor that owned it put up a wire fence about 30 years ago which was about 50 feet wide and 100 feet long inside his property line. I have been maintaining this area for 20 years and constructed a small deck for yoga practice in this area 10 years ago. The neighbor has died and the property is for sale. Do I have any claim to this property?

Default Re: Neighbor Put Fence Up 30 Years Ago, Not on Property Line

You should find an attorney who is familiar with "adverse possession" and discuss your situation. It sounds as if you do have a claim on this property. Be sure to look at the costs.

Easier to buy land than try and take it. As stated - check with someone who knows real estate law, as well as the realtor, or people selling the property. The domains related to adverse possession are specific, and each of them have to be met in a clear and convincing manner should it come to a court of law ($$$$).

If I recall correctly, WA has Color of Title as one of its AP elements, meaning that you have to have some basis in your title documentation to believe that the area in question was part of what you had written title to. If you knew all along that the fenced area was on the neighboring property, knew that the area had been fenced by the owner of the neighboring property, your deed clearly describes the boundaries of your property, and you knew or reasonably should have known that the fenced area was not within your described boundaries, then you don't have Color of title.