Default I can't believe trust creation and administration can be this way

Hello to all ! This is my first time here, and I am very desperate for some advice, guidance, help. Please bear with me. I will try to be as forthcoming as possible without writing a "novel". Please feel free to post questions as necessary. Here goes......I live in Alabama. My wife and I took care of my aunt, and she lived with us for the last three years of her life. We were all very close. My wife was the daugther she never had (my aunt was childless) It was very important to my aunt that we discuss her estate plans with her. we agreed with her about her plans which were to divide her estate 50/50 between my brother (he suffers from cerebal palsy & parkinson's. My wife and I now oversee his care) and myself. she wanted to set up a trust for my brother and make sure that that money was used for his care (my brother has other monies but she of course loved him as well and wanted what she left him to be used to care for him) My aunt, my brother, my wife, and myself were all in agreement on this. My aunt was a bright lady, but at 86, was a little dull with her memory. she asked that my wife and I meet with her and her attorney to facilitate the creation of her trust. When we all met to create the trust, my aunt told the attorney that she wanted my wife and myself with her while the trust was put together. the attorney told her "no, we would have to leave." Not knowing better, we thought we had to leave, so we did. We have since found out that while he may have been concerned with "undue influence", my aunt still had the right to have us with her.