Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Radar Accuracy and Malfunction

My question involves traffic court in the State of: MN

Hello, I just got a ticket in a commercial vehicle for 16 over the speed limit. I have been driving truck for some time and this is my first ticket in a commercial vehicle and even though im not contesting that i wasnt speeding i am contesting the accuracy of the statements made by the officer. I have been driving the same truck for 3 years and am well aware of the max speed the govenor allows my truck to go. In this case i watched how fast my truck was going. i used the passing lane in a 60 mile and hour zone to get ahead of traffic that was going a moderatly 55 miles and hour in a 60 mile an hour zone. I know it was a risk to go to 70 but the group of cars made it impossible for me to get in my exit lane before i had to exit. As i approached the hill, i saw the officer pulling off the shoulder. i reduced my speed and he pulled me over. He came up to the truck and asked me how fast do i think i was going. I told him 70. He goes i clocked you at 76. my govenor Tops my truck out at 74 at the most. Tried many times on 70 MPH roads and it will not reach 75. No Matter what. So when i informed the officer that the truck cannot do that speed especially going up hill. He preceeded to say well ok im lying and grabbed my information and went back to his squad. Upon return he gave me my ticket for 76, and left. my question is how accurate would it be to get a reading across 4 lanes(5 lanes including the shoulder) with a large group of vehicles in its path? What Items of proof would i need to fight this severity of the ticket?

Default Re: Radar Accuracy and Malfunction