Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Arrested for Shoplifting in NYC, First Offense

My question involves criminal law for the state of: New York

**I am aware that there is another recent thread pertaining to a shoplifter in N.Y. under similar circumstances, however I have questions which are more specific to my case and feel they could be best answered in a different thread. I apologize if this seems like a re-post or breaches forum policies.**

Hello. I am a 20 year old student, currently enrolled in a college local to the area of my crime. I was recently arrested for shoplifting from Macy's in Brooklyn, N.Y. and received a DAT (Desk Appearance Ticket) I am scheduled to appear in court next month and in the time leading up to my court date I am seeking to learn as much information as I can so I can be as prepared as I possibly can be to achieve the best possible outcome. I have already been made aware that the Judge will appoint me a legal aid on the day of my trial as I cannot afford a lawyer of my own. Unfortunately, this means that I have had to gather as much information as possible, as to the possible outcomes on my own. Many times the information I have come across has been unclear so I hope some of my questions can be answered here.

The first question I have is would I be eligible for an ACD (Adjournment in contemplation of dismissal). I have learned that seeing as this is my first criminal offence I may be offered an ACD however it appears that the cost of the merchandise that was in my possession will affect my eligibility. The four products I attempted to steal cost approximately $95- $150 dollars. Have read varying accounts from several sources one stating an ACD is only available for an attempted theft of $100 while others have said $200 and even as much as $500. I hope that someone here can clarify the amount so I know if an ACD may be an option. If not I am aware I may be eligable for a plea deal which could turn my charge into a violation.