Default Does Long-Term Use of a Driveway Create an Easement

My question involves an easement in the state of: North Carolina

I have been using a driveway to my property for 20 years. Family member just got property that I cross and now is saying I have no right to cross the land. I have a house number to the land. Is there a law about using a roadway for a number of years making it permanent?

Default Re: Easements

well, it takes 20 years for a claim of adverse possession to ripen so you have that going for you unless...

how did it come to be you used this easement to access your property? Was it used by permission of the owners of the land?

Default Re: Does Long-Term Use of a Driveway Create an Easement

Quote Quoting goatlady
    View Post
    Is there a law about using a roadway for a number of years making it permanent?
    Nope! There is nothing that will just "make" an easement. There are laws that give you the right to an easement but to have the easement it must be awarded by the courts or be purchased from the landowner.

There are several 'reasons' an easement will be granted, one is continuous use over a period of time as mentioned by JK. Another is losing access to a road by subdividing property into smaller parcels. But to get a legal recorded easement requires either an agreement between landowners or a lawsuit through the courts. If you need to sue for the easement, plan on it costing lots and lots of Time and Money on both landowners.