Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Angry Harassment by an Abusive Website

My question involves defamation in the state of: United Kingdom / United States.

Hello. I am a resident of Scotland in the UK, but my issue really pertains to a website that I believe is hosted in America behind a reverse proxy.

Ever since early 2008, I have been the victim of harassment by a website entitled Encyclopedia Dramatica. They basically have a wiki that people can edit and it looks at first sight to be a clone of Wikipedia. Somebody started up an article about me in January of that year, posting about the forums I got banned from, posting pictures of myself and quoting things I said on forums and in emails, etc. They've done this to countless other people too. Their disclaimer claims they are about satire, but they are in fact just hosting abusive content.

About 6 months before the site was replaced by a new site by its owner in 2011, I got the article about myself deleted at long last after I finally found out who their hosting provider was and I filed a DMCA report, which meant that by American law, the images had to be removed. I'd been receiving help from someone on a blog who was monitoring their illegal antics. If I needed help on finding their host, he or she had an e-mail address on the blog that I could write to.