Default College student registration question

I'm from New Jersey and I am now going to school in Florida. I just recently got a ticket because the police said that I failed to register in Florida. I thought since I was a college student that I did not have to register because my permanent address is still New Jersey. I am not employed in Florida either and I know that it is one of the criteria to have to switch over. All I do in Florida is go to college full time. Can someone inform me of the registration rules in Florida?

Default Re: College student registration question

The ticket relates to your motor vehicle registration only? It is currently lawfully registered in New Jersey? You have a New Jersey driver's license, and they found that acceptable?

Yes it is only pertaining to my car registration. The police officer stated that I need to change my registration from New Jersey to Florida, but I could keep my New Jersey license, which he state he have no problems with my license. I don't think that makes sense at all. My New Jersey registration is also valid for the year. He also stated that I needed Florida insurance, but did not put that on the ticket.
    Michelle

Florida's DMV site states,
    Quote Quoting Why must I register my motor vehicle?
    In the state of Florida, a motor vehicle is required by law to be registered within ten days of the owner either becoming employed, placing children in public school, or establishing residency. Registering your motor vehicle goes hand in hand with the titling process.
    You can dig for a more specific statute here. I suspect that, possibly based on something you told him, the officer concluded that you are now a resident of Florida. I would suggest as a starting point, contacting the DMV and asking for a further explanation of Florida's rules as to when you must register in the state.

Do you "live" on campus? Or drive home every night.