Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Modifying Custody from Joint Legal to Sole Legal

My question involves a child custody case from the State of: IL

Hi. I am new to post but a long time lurker. My ex and I split in early 2010 and he filed for visitation over that summer. We went to mediation that fall. In mediation we agreed on most issues, including us having joint legal custody. Nothing is said about physical custody, but the child, B (3 years), is primarily with me while my ex has the typical EOW and one night a week visitation. We went to court in early 2011 and everything was laid out and put into our papers. Everything had been going okay until early this year.

For a little background, my ex and I got along great right after the split for a few weeks until he got involved with someone. She immediately took control of everything involving B. She did not like me from the beginning and was very insecure with me being in my ex's life. There were a lot of arguments and petty problems between the 3 of us but for the most part we were able to work it out for the sake of the child. This year, however, things took a turn for the worst and both my ex and his girlfriend have been rude, controlling, and spiteful. I've spent my time in the early stages of learning how to co-parent being dumb, immature and rude, and now all I want is the best for B. Over the summer I've allowed my ex to treat me badly and walk all over me in hopes that they'll have their fun and move on.