Default What Happens if Foreign Students Don't Repay Their U.S. Student Loans

I didn't know what the right place was to post this request for your help, forgive me for posting it twice:
    I am a foreigner living in India now. I lived in NYC when I studied there and took a loan from Sallie Mae.
    I paid them more than required monthly for four years and now I am out of work and I don't feel like paying them anymore especially considering the fact that I didn't give them collateral and nobody co-signed. (However, I offered them a settlement at 50% which they rejected.)
    What is the risk of stopping all communication and repayment for good going forward. What is their recourse?
    - I travel to the USA very sporadically and don't really need to travel there. Can they stop me at immigration for not paying my loan? Can they stop me from getting a visa? Can they throw me in jail for defaulting?
    - In the future, can they do anything else than giving me a bad credit score which would stop me from borrowing in the future in the USA? Is there a statue of limitation after a few years that will wash out this bad credit score or the option to rebuild it without ever paying Sallie Mae back?
    - Meanwhile, can Sallie Mae come after my parents (Netherlands, their property or accounts), my own property (UAE, Middle East) or me personally in any way in India (bank accounts)?
    I would love to hear your personal experiences or advice.
    Many thanks in advance.

Default Re: Sallie Mae's Recourse on Student Loan to Foreigner Without a Co Signer or Collate

From what I read, the government can do several things in an attempt to collect on a defaulted student loan. They can intercept your tax refund, if applicable, along with garnishing your wages and even suing, if necessary. Also, from what I read, there is NO statute of limitations on suing for collection of a federal student loan.