Default No Medication After Major Surgery

My question involves medical malpractice in the state of: California
    A friend of mine had a total abdominal hysterectomy and in her post-op treatment while in pain had no pain medication for two hours. I thought this was unbelievable and was wondering if she could sue for pain and suffering?

Default Re: No Medication After Major Surgery

Can she show that the medication was deliberately withheld?

I'll bet the answer to that is No. It can take a couple hours to get pain medication after surgery - often, physicians prefer to wait for the anesthetic to wear off completely, so there is less risk of overmedication. And really, some pain for two hours is not remotely close to a claim for "pain and suffering".
    I'm not a lawyer, but I play a researcher on the internet!
    Caution: I bite. WARNING: Do not send questions or complaints by PM. I'm likely to post them publicly and embarrass you half to death.
    I'm training for the MS Society's Bike to the Bay - and blogging about it!

Of course it wasnt deliberately withheld and of course if it was we would probably have no knowledge that it was. All I know is that this wasnt ok with the operating doctor after she got word that her patient was without medication for two hours she apologized and stated how angry she was about this situation and that she was going to the hospital board with this. The nurses that were on staff during her post-op did not once express any apology or compassion and this also angered the next shift of nurses.

None of which gives rise to any kind of legal recourse.

Of course it wasnt deliberately withheld
    Then there's no claim for malpractice. And again, only 2 hours of discomfort doesn't rise to a claim for "pain and suffering".