Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Racial Promotion Discrimination

My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: Florida

Can I sue my employer for racial discrimination for removing me from a potential promotion?
    Question Details : Since I've been hired almost 3 months now, I've been training on taking over a lot of the Controller's job duties and he is completely satisfied with my progress and work. Basically, being groomed to be his Assistant Controller but without the pay or title, though I have about 15 yrs of Accounting experience and am currently studying full-time and working on getting my Bachelor's in Accounting. I'm now being told that the owner is creating a new official Assistant Controller position that required a Bachelor's Degree in Accounting or Finance. That's technically makes me unqualified, though I'm currently doing the job and doing it well. They also want me to now pass on all my current tasks to this new person and help train them as well. As well as, take the position of someone who is leaving which is basically a demotion because it's basically data entry and receptionist duties. I believe it's racial discrimination, you see because I think the owner had an issue with a young Hispanic having access to highly classified company and employee information and 99% of the employees are white. I believe the owner forced the Controller to come up with some way to gently demote me or move me to another position. The Controller tried to sell it to me as something good with potential for me in the future, but I'm not buying it. I can tell he's not telling me the truth and he even gave me a $25 Starbucks card as a thank you for understanding. I've literally been doing a lot of the Controller's tasks perfectly well and I can tell he's not racist but the owner is a whole different story. I'm not sure if I have a case but any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Default Re: Racial Promotion Discrimination