Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Unhappy Can You Go to Jail if You Default On Student Loans

My question involves collection proceedings in the State of: California

Hello, please can anyone give me any inputs on this. I'm kindda of worried.
    I am a student who own $20,000 student loan total, yes I know that is a lot of amount, so I am very worried.
    No more school, now after 6 months I have to start repay my loans. For this past 6 months I cannot find any job at all. I do not have any car, I take public transportation, therefore any job that is too far, very far away, I have no way of getting there.
    Economy is not very good, job within 1-2 hours of where I live, i was not able to find any.

I have no house, I live with my mother (whom is already tired) and she pays the rent.
    So I really have no asset for the loans people to take, no home, no car, no job.

Believe me, I want to pay back loans, I just don't have any money, I don't know where to go to find money to pay them back when I don't have any job right now.

So let say the worst situation, I defer on my loans, they turn me to a debt collector, and decided to sue me. What is the worst consequences, are they going to throw me in jail?
    I really don't want to go to jail
    Any advice be great, thanks,
    very worried

Default Re: No Job, Cannot Pay Back Student Loans, if They Sue Me, Can I Go to Jail

No jail time for you ... you just joined about 30 other million americans, congrats.

Never take out loans for school ....

Default Re: Can You Go to Jail if You Default On Student Loans

Hhaha there is no debtors prison in the US.

Quote Quoting bam!
    View Post
    Hhaha there is no debtors prison in the US.
    You don't live in Illinois, do you?

Oh my God, so that means I can go to jail?
    I borrow Federal government student loans, so if the U.S. Department of Education turns me to a debtor collector, they can arrested me and put me in jail?