Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Denied Unemployment After Resigning Job as a Trailing Spouse

My question involves unemployment benefits for the state of: NJ

Hi,

Long story short: I was just told that I was disqualified of unemployment benefits as of June 04, 2012, because I resigned from my part time job (Nov 04, 2011) to follow my husband who got a new job in VA (Sept 20, 2011), after I was laid of from my full time job (May 10, 2011).

Here are the details:

I worked as a full time retail employee for a company since November 26, 2007. I was laid of on May 10, 2011, but I was told that if I am interested they might have a part time position in a different department, and if I contact the other department Manager within 30 days, I might be able to keep eligibility for medical benefits (both me and my husband were covered through my insurance).

After the initial 3 days shock, I contacted the Manager in the other department and was called for an interview, and then was hired as a part time employee. I could keep my medical insurance but I had to pay 5 times more then what I was paying as a full time employee Eventually I gave up on the coverage because I could not afford it. The pay was less and I had to commute 25min vs. 5min for my full time location but it was a job.

Meanwhile I had filed an unemployment claim (05/08/11) and was approved for benefits.

In August my husband received a job offer in VA. He was told that they need him to work in the location in VA until they open the new store in NJ and then he would be transferred back (few months). He accepted the job and move to VA in September. We were originality thinking of keeping the apartment in NJ and for me to stay there until he comes back to NJ. But the opening of the new store was postponed, and we could not afford to keep both apartments any longer, especially since I was only working Part Time.