Default Can an Out-of-Status F1 Visa Holder Marry a U.S. Citizen

I am an F1 student and I'm currently on F1 status for OPT. I'll be out of status in two months. I was planning to marry my bf who is an US citizen,if I had to leave the country but it got postponed to another year or so since he got cold feet. I don't want to have a long distance relationship and I was wondering what would happen if I overstay? Could I get married to him eventually and not have to leave the country for a period of time? Would the government allow it since i overstayed illegally?

Default Re: I Am an F1 Who is Out of Status.can I Get Married to an U.S. Citizen with No Prob

If you marry without being subject to deportation action, you would likely be fine. However, why would you want to start your life in the US by doing something you know to be illegal? It speaks poorly of your character. If your BF were my child, I'd advise him to run from this relationship because someone who would knowingly violate US immigration laws for her own selfish benefit is not likely to behave honorably in other matters. It sounds like your BF is not as interested in you as you are in a green card via marriage otherwise you would not have posted.

The legal (and honorable) thing to do is to find an H1B job sponsor. H1B is a dual intent visa. Approach your OPT employer to see if this is a possibility.

Default Re: I Am an F1 Who is Out of Status.can I Get Married to an U.S. Citizen with No Prob