Default What to Do After Getting Rear-Ended

My question involves a traffic accident in the State of: California
    What to Do After Getting Rear-Ended – California San Jose
    Yesterday (17 March) late evening a car rear ended me while I was stopped at a red light at an intersection. There were some minor damages at the back of the car. This is a rental car I have taken from avis. Nobody was hurt and the driver admitted mistake to me.

I did not have much idea as to what should have been done then as this was first experience of this kind for me. So I called 911 but the operator refused to send any cops as she said 1. There was no injury 2. There was no traffic block.
    I still requested her to send someone but she said I need to call my insurance. That’s it.
    So I took the name, phone number, license number and Insurance number of the other person.
    I plan to call insurance company tomorrow.

Few Questions:
    Pls answer as I am new to whole process:

1. What is the recommended process to follow? Did I follow correct steps?
    2. I am going to call Insurance Company tomorrow? What else do I need to do?
    3. I wonder why the 911 did not send cops although I requested so many times?

Pls share your experience and advice kindly.
    Thank You

Default Re: What to Do After Getting Rear-Ended

Quote Quoting sunandoghosh
    View Post
    1. What is the recommended process to follow? Did I follow correct steps?
    You typically exchange information with the other driver at the scene and go your separate ways. Which you've done!

View Post
    2. I am going to call Insurance Company tomorrow? What else do I need to do?
    You also need to contact Avis and notify them that you were involved in an accident in their vehicle. They will instruct you on how to proceed accordingly!

View Post
    3. I wonder why the 911 did not send cops although I requested so many times?