Default Clients Fail to Pay

My question involves business law in the state of: CA

I'm a small business owner in CA. We sell electronic devices. A client in Scottdale, AZ purchased equipment from us and has not paid their invoices over 3 months. We stopped all transactions since January of 2012. Amount owed is around $27000. There was no contract, but we have proof of invoices, tracking numbers/ proof of delivery to their office. He did pay for previous invoices. The guy at first was still responding to our calls and emails, promising to pay. He stopped responding in March, couldn't get a hold of him.

Please advise on what I should do at this point. Should I involve an attorney and take guy to court?

Thanks for your help.

Default Re: Clients Fail to Pay

Read this book.

If you do consult a lawyer, you'll want to have a pretty good sense of whether there's a realistic chance of recovery and negotiate a fee accordingly. For example, you typically don't want to pay by the hour to try to collect a debt from a company that has no assets and is about to shut its doors.

Thanks for the reply. I will look into it.

Quote Quoting chuotlua72
    View Post
    My question involves business law in the state of: CA

I'm a small business owner in CA. We sell electronic devices. A client in Scottdale, AZ purchased equipment from us and has not paid their invoices over 3 months. We stopped all transactions since January of 2012. Amount owed is around $27000. There was no contract, but we have proof of invoices, tracking numbers/ proof of delivery to their office. He did pay for previous invoices. The guy at first was still responding to our calls and emails, promising to pay. He stopped responding in March, couldn't get a hold of him.

Please advise on what I should do at this point. Should I involve an attorney and take guy to court?

Thanks for your help.