Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Employer Instituting Drug Tests, Unemployment Eligibility if I Fail

My question involves unemployment benefits for the state of: New York

Hello, I am new to this forum and have found myself in a bit of a predicament. My current job is being sold and the new owners are requiring a drug test as part of their conditional employment that I may not pass.

If I fail the test, would I still be considered to be laid off from my current job, (closing will not be finalized until well after the test)? Will I qualify for unemployment? And will my current employer know/have to disclose the reason for why I was not accepted by the new owners?

I was told that rejecting the offer will guarantee disqualification for unemployment. I have been working there for over 5 years and both companies are big corporations.

Default Re: Job is Being Sold, Not Sure if I Will Qualify for New Owners Conditional Employme

A positive UA may lead to termination for cause or some other disciplinary action.

Default Re: Job is Being Sold, Not Sure if I Will Qualify for New Owners Conditional Employme

My current employer is not the one asking for the test and I know for a fact that the only consequence for failing is that the new owner will not hire me. I will still have my current job until closing is finalized.

There is no way for us to know how either the new owner or the NY UI office will characterize your termination if you are not hired because of failing a drug test. All you can do is apply and find out, if that happens.

If I fail the test, would I still be considered to be laid off from my current job, Nope. You will be considered to have tested positive for an illegal substance.

Will I qualify for unemployment? The odds are not in your favor, particularly if your employer has a policy in place which prohibits being under the influence of an illegal substance in the workplace.