My question involves employment and labor law for the state of: Michigan
It's my understanding that in the state of Michigan, time clocks and compensation must be to the nearest 1/10 hour. I work at a factory where are time clocks are on the computer. We are asked to punch in when we walk into the building, (which for me is almost always at 1:40pm. (My hours are 2-10pm). Then at our start time, 2pm, we are asked to punchinto the job we are performing, which I do. When you are done for the day, I punch out of my job at 10:10pm and punch out of the building at 10:12 pm. yet, based on those times, they are only paying me for 8 hours. I thought employers had to round to the nearest tenth, and couldn't round back if the employee was working. And if I punch in at 1:40 am I supposed to be paid for being there even though I am not punched into a job?
Thanks to any answers on either questions in advance.