My question involves vehicle maintenance laws for the State of: Florida
I was recently pulled over for illegal window tint, which has happened many times over the past 10 years I have had this tint on my car, and I presented the officer with my medical exemption certificate and he ticketed me anyway! He said that the medical exemption certificate does not apply to the front windshield below the factory line at the top. My entire windshield is tinted and to my knowledge this is legal with the exemption certificate. I had it professionally installed and the shop who did this said my certificate allowed for the entire windshield. No where on my certificate does it state that it only applies to the % of tint and no where does it state that it only applies to the top 4 inches of the front windshield. My medical condition does not discriminate on what method the sun burns my face. I live in Florida and its a constant struggle. Does anyone know if this citation is legitimate? How can I contest this ticket? Do I need to contact the state? A lawyer? Request a trial or jury? My other alternative is to pay the $116 fine and remove my tint which will make my life hell. I already look like I'm sunburned 24/7 and I don't want to live my life with painful blisters on my face. I would appreciate any helpful information any of you may have for me.