Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1

    Default Underage Possession of Alcohol in Ocean City, Maryland

    My question involves criminal law for the state of: Maryland

    While I was at Senior Week (week after high school graduation where graduates go to Ocean City, Maryland for a week) I decided to drink and walk out of my hotel with a red cup with liquor in it to the beach at 2AM Anyways, after I crossed the street in front of my hotel, a cop stopped me and asked me what was in my cup. I kept walking and then eventually decided to stop. He wasn't going to call in the charge, but unfortunately his partner had already done so. I'm not sure what the actual charge is because I lost the citation, but I'm guessing just an alcohol citation or a possession of alcohol. I did not have to blow into a breathalyzer, and I don't recall the cop ever asking me if I was already drunk. Basically I just got in trouble for having a cup of liquor and being underage. The citation says a maximum of a $500 fine. I didn't think about getting a lawyer since I am obviously guilty. Will I have to retell what happened that night? Should I expect to pay the $500? It is my first offense. Basically I just want to know what to expect on the day of my court date. My court date is August 18, so quick replies will be very much appreciated!! Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Toledo, OH
    Posts
    16,303

    Default Re: 18 Year Old Charged with Underage Possession in Ocean City, Maryland

    I didn't think about getting a lawyer since I am obviously guilty.
    Get a lawyer anyway.

    Will I have to retell what happened that night? Should I expect to pay the $500?
    Yes and yes.

  3. #3

    Default Re: 18 Year Old Charged with Underage Possession in Ocean City, Maryland

    I second LawResearcherMissy. A good lawyer's not just good for getting you found "not guilty," they can also argue for a sentence they believe is just.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Behind a Desk
    Posts
    98,846

    Default Re: 18 Year Old Charged with Underage Possession in Ocean City, Maryland

    And you felt it was crucial to add that comment to a thread from 2011?

    1. Sponsored Links
       

Similar Threads

  1. Minor in Possession: Underage Possession of Alcohol in Maryland
    By almostfan94 in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-08-2013, 06:15 AM
  2. Minor in Possession: Underage Alcohol Possession in Maryland
    By racheliah in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-08-2011, 05:58 AM
  3. Minor in Possession: Charged with Underage Possession of Alcohol but I Did Not Have Any Alcohol on Me
    By ZzzestyCabbage in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2011, 07:57 PM
  4. Minor in Possession: Underage Alcohol Possession in Maryland
    By Rwest22 in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2009, 02:54 PM
  5. Minor in Possession: Underage Possession Alcohol, Second Offense, Maryland
    By Rwest22 in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-26-2009, 08:58 PM
 
 
Sponsored Links

Legal Help, Information and Resources