Hybrid View

Default Breaking Provisional License Restrictions in California

My question involves a driver's license issued by the State of: CA
    I am a provisional licensed driver and received a ticket for the infraction CVC 12814.6(b)(1), or breaking the provisional driving curfew. I read on a different thread that the penalty for this would be a small fine or community service:

"(d)
    (1) Upon a finding that any licensee has violated paragraph (1) of subdivision (b), the court shall impose one of the following:
    (A) Not less than eight hours nor more than 16 hours of community service for a first offense and not less than 16 hours nor more than 24 hours of community service for a second or subsequent offense.

(B) A fine of not more than thirty-five dollars ($35) for a first offense and a fine of not more than fifty dollars ($50) for a second or subsequent offense.
    (2) If the court orders community service, the court shall retain jurisdiction until the hours of community service have been completed.

(3) If the hours of community service have not been completed within 90 days, the court shall impose a fine of not more than thirty-five dollars ($35) for a first offense and not more than fifty dollars ($50) for a second or subsequent offense."

However, as i continued to read through the thread, I came across this passage from the CA vehicle code which i was unable to understand:

"(1) The driving privilege shall be suspended when the record of the person shows one or more notifications issued pursuant to Section 40509 or 40509.5. The suspension shall continue until any notification issued pursuant to Section 40509 or 40509.5 has been cleared."

What is the meaning of the above passage?

Default Re: Breaking Provisional License Restrictions in California

Quote Quoting jackwackus
    View Post
    However, as i continued to read through the thread, I came across this passage from the CA vehicle code which i was unable to understand: