Default Two Similar Trademarks

I recently started to put together a business plan. It involves, workshops, consulting, blog, and even supplements with the Trademark name, and a book. I'm a doctor.

I bought the domain names. TheFightDietBlog.com and the TheFightDietBook.com
    Then I went to do a search in the Trademark database.
    The one I'm looking to trademark is "The Fight Diet". There is nothing registered, under The Fight Diet, so at first I felt relieved, because it was available. There was even a note that said that the word "Diet" is broad that no one can really trademark it.

Then out of curiousity, I looked for similiar ones. I found "Fighter Diet" was trademarked. I went to the persons website, and they have a diet, and one on one phone consults, and a few ebooks. Similiar, but my is more workshop, trademark supplements, and soon to be published Book.

There are thousands of diets out there, also thousands of similiar supplement companies (ie. nature's sunshine, nature's balance, nature's vitality). My question is will I likely get turned down, when I try to register this name, and throw away money on the application. And second, if I do get a TM. Will I be vulnerable to the FighterDiet.com person pursuing me for infringement? Am I opening up a pandora's box of future problems?

Default Re: Two Similiar Trademarks

First, you should already have trademarked the title of the book. Book titles are NOT protected by copyright.

If the book has a similar title, then that registration would have told you if you would have problems.

"The" is a worthless word trademark wise and I don't know why you registered domains with it. Just makes the name longer and harder to remember.

I think you have potential problems with the fighter diet. If that diet is just for fighters, then perhaps a bit less so, but I doubt it is that specific. Your biggest problem is that the conflict is in the exact same class and virtually identical marketwise.