Default Shoplifting at Filene's Basement in Massachusetts

i was caught shoplifting in Filene's for $85. i am a foreign student on visa.. i was so scared.. they told if i don't want police involvde i should sign everything. i did without reading because i was so scared. i signed. then i got a letter asking for some money. i paid. but now - i am scared that they will still go to the police and i will be deported.

what can i do? do my parents to find out? what chance i will have to go court? will there be a record? can i find out what is the papers i signed? will i be arrested in my class?

- scared and nervous -

Default Re: shoplifting filiene's basement, ma

It all starts with papers you signed. Give them a call requesting a copy of each paper.

Default Re: shoplifting filiene's basement, ma

If you have not yet heard from the police, and paid the civil demand, you probably got lucky. I hope you have learned your lesson, as there can be serious repurcussions for shoplifting even if you aren't in the U.S. on a visa.

Unhappy Re: Shoplifting at Filene's Basement in Massachusetts

today i called a immigration lawyer that my friend told me about. he said if i paid the civil demand it will show up in my background check and i can lose my visa status and that i need to get criminal defense lawyer...

i paid cause i just want the whole thing to go away.. now i fear i have ruined myself.

when i paid the law firm had said civil demand wont effect my visa or anything like that. but then this lawyer i called today said something like if i pay i admit guilt and now i need to get criminal defense lawyer.

i didn't get anything from the police: i still think i am okay. can you comment?

completely regret what happened.

- still nervous -

Default Re: Shoplifting at Filene's Basement in Massachusetts