Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default What's the Effect of an Unemployment Claim on Employer's UI Rate

My question involves unemployment benefits for the state of: CA

Hello,

I'm a small business owner with 10 employees, and I'm wondering how much my UI rates (both fed and state) would increase if a UI claim is filed.

My current payroll is about $15,000 a month. I've got a part-time employee who I'd like to lay off, and he will definitely file for unemployment if/when this occurs.

He only works a few days a month, his gross wages are $200.00/month. If my rates would go up significantly, I think I'd just keep him on instead of paying higher UI rates. This may seem nonsensical, but I'm struggling to keep the boat afloat and can't afford any more expenses right now.

I've been trying all week to contact EDD by phone and email but cannot get through by phone and have not heard back from email. I understand that no one will be able to tell me exactly how much the increase will be, but I'm just looking for a ballpark figure. If it matters, I've been in business for 14 years and have never had a UI claim filed against me. Thank you for any help on this.

Default Re: UI Claim Effect on Employer's UI Rate

Well, even if your rate DOES go up, it wouldn't be until at least 2011 and maybe not until 2012. And since only the first $7K in wages is taxable (and that obviously would be in the first quarter of the year) the MOST this would cost you is $700 for the entire year, if your rate increases by .1%. Without a UI claim ever, it's likely your rate would not go up at year, or at least very little. Is it really worth paying an employee you don't need instead of paying MAYBE a minimal UI increase?
    http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2088c.pdf

In other words, your rate would have to increase by more than .3% for your 2011 tax to be more than you're paying him in wages for just one MONTH.