Default No Check-In-Without-Credit-Card Airline Rule

My question involves a consumer law issue in the State of:
    Possibly more than one country.

Hi, I hope this is the right place to post this question.

Husband and I bought 2 return tickets Madrid/Doha/Male with Qatar and back to go on holidays to the Maldives.

I bought the tickets through a perfectly legal, fast and efficient banking system that generates a temporary, virtual, one-time-use, credit card number for single purchases or transactions; as soon as used, that number is deleted from the system and cannot be retrieved.
    They are called "substitute credit card numbers" or "controlled payment numbers".
    I am not an expert, but I would say that, from the legal point of view, these are not credit cards, they are more like a credit transfer.
    Qatar system accepted the payment and processed to issue valid reservations.

Anyway at Madrid Airport, Qatar staff refused to issue a boarding pass (and therefore to let us on the airplane) because we could not produce the actual plastic thing, the physical credit card.
    The tickets had already been paid for; they actually showed me papers stating that they had been regularly paid for, but since no credit card was produced we could not board and we lost the entire amount of the flights PLUS the entire amount of our stay (the resort did not refund us either, given the short notice cancellation ...).
    As an aside note, I must say we demanded to speak with the manager but the staff girl said the manager was somewhere else and unavailable...

They said we could pay for another ticket and they would issue a MCO to us for the refund. Unfortunately having had a very bad experience with credit cards we did not have one with us and could not pay for another ticket.
    So we were left on ground.

They alleged that this is a security policy they have in place and that the rule could not be bent.