Default Tax Sale and a Life Estate

OK. long story short, I have a life estate on 100 acres. remainderman won't pay the taxes on it so I have been paying them for the last several years. if i quit paying the taxes and let this property go to a tax sale , will I still have a life estate on the property no matter who owns it or buys it at the sale?

Default Re: Tax Sale and a Life Estate

Quote Quoting ktm rider
    View Post
    OK. long story short, I have a life estate on 100 acres. remainderman won't pay the taxes on it so I have been paying them for the last several years. if i quit paying the taxes and let this property go to a tax sale , will I still have a life estate on the property no matter who owns it or buys it at the sale?
    what makes you believe you shouldn't be paying the taxes? I know in Texas the tenant is actually required to pay the taxes by statute. In many states it is considered the liability of the tenant. Since we don't know your state, I'll stick with you being liable for the taxes.

Oh, and if the property gets foreclosed for failure to pay taxes: you lose your interest as well.

Quote Quoting jk
    View Post
    what makes you believe you shouldn't be paying the taxes? I know in Texas the tenant is actually required to pay the taxes by statute..
    You are assuming that I live on the property, I do not. I simply pay the taxes so it won't go to a tax sale ( old family property has sentimental value)but I'm tired of footing the bill while the remainderman uses the property occassionally ( hunting, picnics etc.. ) but refuses to help with the taxes or do any of the maintenance or help pay for any of the maintenance such as mowing the fields, building repair, road repair etc...

BTW- This property is in Md. ( sorry, I should have mentioned that earlier)

=ktm rider;439884]You are assuming that I live on the property, I do not.
    No, I am assuming you have a life tenancy. Whether you live on the property or not is irrelevant.